Your ALT-Text here

 Your ALT-Text here  Your ALT-Text here  Your ALT-Text here  Your ALT-Text here  Your ALT-Text here
  Don't forget to get involved in our up-coming events. We need your participation!  









Call For Action
Click Here


Who will you vote for President in the next election?
George Bush
John Kerry
Ralph Nader
Will not vote

























Welcome to the Jacksonville

Florida branch of the NAACP





NAACP Jacksonville


Welcome to the Jacksonville Branch of the NAACP. Today we face a renewed effort as the forces of racism and retrogression in America are again on the rise. Many of the hard-earned civil rights gains of the past three decades are under assault. But, with the support of the national staff and volunteers; 2200 units covering all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Germany, Italy, Japan and Korea; and more than 500,000 members, the new NAACP is stronger than ever.


To find out more about the NAACP organization click here


Local NAACP History in Jacksonville


The NAACP-Jacksonville Florida Branch has been active since 1917. The NAACP is a volunteer organization made up of hundreds of members in Jacksonville who volunteer their time, energies and money to do the work of the organization. Our goal is to improve the political, educational, social and economic status of minority groups. We work to eliminate racial prejudice and to keep the public aware of the adverse effects of racial discrimination. The NAACP takes lawful action to secure the elimination of racial discrimination, consistent with its policies.


There have been 24 Branch presidents in Jacksonville since its organization in 1917, the first being a minister, Rev. B.J. Williams. Of those 24, two have been women, three were attorneys, five were ministers, one police officer and the others being educators and businessmen.


 Your ALT-Text here The NAACP Needs You!


For more than nine decades, the NAACP has consistently relied on the membership and participation of socially conscious individuals of all races, religions, political affiliations and ideologies. While we have fought and won many battles to end racism, and injustice, there is still much work to be done. With your help we can build on the tremendous progress we have made and work together to eliminate the remaining barriers to freedom and equality for all Americans. Your contributions are invaluable to the continued existence of the Jacksonville Branch NAACP advocacy initiatives, outreach programs and litigation efforts. Please contact us and find out how you can help.

5422 Soutel Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32219
Tel: (904) 764-7578


Mission Statement and Focal Points


The mission of the NAACP is to eliminate racial prejudice and to remove racial discrimination through the democratic process. This mission is called through the implementation of several programs and services. The organization actively keeps its hand on the pulse of the community and modifies its programs and services to meet the changing times. To the extent possible, matters of  of community concerns are addressed proactively so that their impact to the community is minimal. The organization also lends a helping hand to citizens in need who have been of unfortunate circumstances. Currently, the organization is focusing its attention on the following:

  • Economic Empowerment
  • Voter Registration and Education
  • Anti-Affirmative Action Movement
  • Youth Programs
  • Community Health-Related Issues (HIV/AIDS, cancer, drugs, etc.)



Click  To



Copyright 2004    Site Design & Hosting by "The Computer Spa"



 Your ALT-Text here



Executive Committee


Mrs. Elnora Atkins

Mrs. Dorothy O. Boyd

Mrs. Jessie M. Bush

Mrs. Olivia Gay Davis

Mr. Preston Drummer

Pastor Ernest Griffith
Mr. James Cody

Mr. Claude Hunter

Mr. Lamont E. Jackson

Pastor Eugene Johnson

Mr. Gerald P. Jones, CPA

Mr. Gerald P. Jones

Mr. Joseph Mosley

Mrs. Carlotte Mcintosh

Dr. C. B. Mcintosh

M. Luella McQueen

Mr. Lloyd N. Pearson Jr.

Mrs. Mary Ann Pearson

Ms. Flora Feggins Peterson

Ms. Jean Pettis

Mr. Frank B. Priestly

Ms. Sharon Quarterman

Mr. Anthony Rodgers

Mr. Isaiah Rumlin

Mr. avid L. Shaw

Mrs. Ada Smith

Mrs. Sandra Thompson

Mr. Dennis Wade

Mrs. Florence R. White

Mr. Walter H. White

Mrs. Cezanne Cody